top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeya Nandi

Sophomore Year

There comes a day when you realize that turning the page is the best feeling in the world- because you realize there's so much more to the book than the page you were stuck on.

~ Zayn Malik

What a beautiful year it has been. This year has changed me and the way I view life in ways that I never expected. Not only has it changed my definition of happiness and made me appreciate life's pitfalls, but it has also made me appreciate the beauty of uncertain but new beginnings. The fall semester started out with my excitement of becoming a Resident Advisor and starting my second year at UC. From setting up my floor decorations to starting my major related classes to learning more about myself through new leadership roles, the year was everything I expected it to be. But as the semester progressed, I found myself struggling to keep up with my commitments and self expectations. While facing all of these existing stressors halfway through the semester, I found myself facing a family loss as well as a breakup I never thought I would have to go through. As I struggled with a loss of self identity, the only light in my life at the time was my acceptance letter from an exchange program in Ireland. Hence, I put in all of my efforts into applying for scholarships to help fund this program. After an emotionally difficult few months, the thought of being able to live my dream of studying abroad gave me a new sense of purpose.

Come second semester, as I arrived in Ireland, life just felt unreal. As I settled in, I made amazing new friends and met people from different parts of the world. All of my classes were unique and encouraged me to fully immerse myself into my passion for economics. Slowly but surely, Ireland healed my heart and my life in ways I would never be able to explain. While in Ireland, I got to learn so much both academically as well as personally. Being here taught me the importance of self care and taught me to give myself the love I give to others. It helped me get back to art, reading, travelling, and all of the things that have always given me happiness. I also found myself opening up to new experiences as well as becoming more comfortable with making friends everywhere I went. It gave me a chance to reflect about what I truly want from life, and it gave me happiness I thought I would never feel again.

I started the year as the girl who always has a plan, but the lessons that life has brought me in the past few months have made me see the beauty in appreciating the moments we have instead of worrying about what tomorrow might bring. And now as I start my Internship in Germany for the summer, I look back at how far I have come from the Keya I was a few months ago, and I couldn't be more proud. UC has brought me these valuable experiences and opportunities that I will always hold close to my heart, and I look forward to the next big adventure in store for me.



bottom of page